Turn your PC into home theater computer server

By tipstir
Sep 23, 2007
Post New Reply
  1. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    I was looking into this today and might have found a way to convert VGA to Component Video (red blue green) for HDTV usage. The device cost $71 bucks.

    Looks like this:

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    XP Pro VGA to Component Video Converter[​IMG]
    This converter adapts VGA-type RGBHV video sources to Y, Pb and Pr component video for use with high-definition televisions (HDTVs). Simply connect the converter to an HDTV source (i.e. a high-definition set-top box, or satellite receiver with HDTV outputs, etc.) or a PC using the supplied 6-ft. VGA cable and power it up with the included 12-volt AC adapter. Connect the output of the converter to the HDTV and you're done! You can also connect the VGA output of your computer to drive your HDTV-compatible set. If your PC's output is set to 640x480, the signal will be converted to the 480p mode on your HDTV. The 960x540 video modes on a computer can be displayed on HDTV sets that can handle the 1080i mode. Some TVs which support 720p mode can display computer resolutions of 1280x720. A monitor utility program like PowerStrip for Windows will be needed to fine-tune the computer's VGA output for the HDTV. Note: This converter is not intended to connect a PC to a standard-definition television.
  2. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Hsagetv Update-Patch v1.20 Jan 24th 2008

    Finally had the time to finish this package since 10/2007 release v1.15
    This updated patch replaces the popup menu and OSD for video playback on SD/HDTV. (works on CRT if you don't have HDTV). Support XP and Vista along with Wired and Wireless MVP.

    Note: You need to download prior version 1.15 to use with v1.20 as this is just a patch to update a few number of graphic files that are all new to match current theme.

    Enjoy!

    Download here:
    http://files.filefront.com/hsagetv m.../fileinfo.html
  3. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Virtural Servers with Mail, Web and Sagetv Servers

    I've added Mail Server (with WebMail Client) and Web Server (freeware one) works great together.. To access my internal web site to use my SageTV WebMedia Server1 and I just added SageTV WebMedia Server2 to my network. That is used to record in S-Video directly from Motorola DCT 2500 Digital Box to my Hauppauge PVR-150 using SageTV Server2. I just setup the channel and then use manual recording to setup the recordings. I can do that remotely using Radmin Farmtech you could use Ultra VNC (freeware) to do that samething.

    Some routers have VS (virtural servers this is great for the mail, web and sagetv web media server. VS allows you from any internet source to tap into your network.
  4. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Some cools stuff for Media one is USB and the other is WNAS

    Put all your DVDs on this HDD that 320GB, 500GB and 750GB not a nas though
    [​IMG]

    This one is like a NAS it also has media storeage features and uses wireless or wired LAN with 320GB, 500GB and 750GB

    front
    [​IMG]

    rear
    [​IMG]

    This would replace a MediaMVP as it can do more as hold media files in the internal HDD.
  5. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Update

    Last month I started to loose picture quality and then I would just get this purple/green micro-block effect in all my recordings.

    Results --

    HTPC

    1 dead AGP 8x card
    2 dead PVR-150s (both where from 2004 mark)
    2 couldn't be seen

    Re-image from store backup
    Found 2 PVR-150s

    HTPC #1
    2x PVR-150 to record 2 thru 99

    HTPC #2
    Ordered PVR-150MCE $56 with s/h use that connected directly to DCT 2500 to record preminum channels like SHO, SHO Beyond an etc using SAGETV.
  6. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Change XP into Vista but not using Vista Transformation Pack

    http://www.highdefforum.com/showthread.php?t=67563

    The above link will take you to a posting that I have explained how to my XP into MCE 2005 but in Black Theme instead of Blue. Also change the icons from XP into Vista icons.

    Enjoy and everything is all free!
  7. serpico.2

    serpico.2 Newcomer, in training

    what do i need?

    i have an hp 7060n (mce 2005). i recently bought an hdtv and was wondering if there was an economical way to set it up so that i can run a dual monitor display. the onboard video card only has the one dsub (i think) connection so is there a video card that i can get that will be able to do this? i only have one free pci slot. hd capabilities are not a must but if it's possible that would be amazing. please keep in mind that i am a rookie so please try to be as clear as possible. thanks
  8. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Okay you want to connect your computer MCE 2005 to you HDTV right...

    VGA 15-pin port from your onboard video should be AGP 8x or PCI-Express.
    If you have VGA port on your HDTV all you have to do is get VGA Y-spliter so you can connect both your PC Monitor and HDTV at the sametime.
  9. Obi-Wan Jerkobi

    Obi-Wan Jerkobi TechSpot Maniac Posts: 592

    ...Speechless...

    Wow, you really don't kidd around with this!:haha: My version of this is just my P4 Northwood system recording tv, I don't really watch on it...I watch on the TV. (I don't record a lot, just like 3 shows, I do need to replace the HD...60GB Meh...:p)
    :haha:
  10. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Yes you can get really serious with this stuff.. Keep the 60GB for the OS/Program Files and then get a 320GB, 500GB or 750GB for your Recordings.
  11. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Killed MCE 2005 and Now Server 2003

    I've made the change since MCE 2005 wasn't staying on anymore. The OS got corrupted. So it was time to try Server 2003 instead. Since SAGETV is set to Server mode and Hauppuage Media MVP Server was being use. Now everything works where it should.

    More later..
     
  12. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Wow results are better than I've hope.. Quick loads with Media MVP and SAGETV Web Server. There is a freeware opensource Media server that uses your browser to listen to music and video. This is good idea for those of you who don't have a Media MVP but have your PC desktop or laptop hooked up to a HDTV or SDTV or LCD Monitor.

    Jinzora :: Web Based Media Management System (looks like you need a web server) I use KF Web Server it's 100% and quick to use.
  13. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Well finally upgraded again and now have everything working off Windows Server 2003 which seems to improve access over the network. Also replace my router 4x with all these Draft 2.0 N. Finally ended up with Dlink DIR-655. I had DIR-615 that had 32MB and 500MHz CPU it was really quick but dropped the wireless wan connections and couple of other things.
  14. ISPEED

    ISPEED Newcomer, in training Posts: 19

    best pvr card for HD satellite?

    i am in the process of building a new media center pc most of the parts should be here tomorrow the only part i didnt order was a video capture card which is the best for capturing from my HD satelite reciever ? here is a list of what i have so far

    Case=Aspire X-QPACK2 micro atx w/500 watt psu (Black)
    Motherboard=Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H with onboard video and HDMI out
    CPU=Amd Athlon 64 X2 6400+
    Ram= 2 GIGS of OCZ gold pc6400 800 mhz
    Hard Drive= 500 GIG seagate 7200 rpm
    Optical Drive=Lg DVD writer ( upgrading to blu ray when prices come down)
    WIFI NIC= DLINK extreme n pci card
    OS= Windows vista home premium
  15. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

  16. ISPEED

    ISPEED Newcomer, in training Posts: 19

    thanks for the info is the software that comes with this card good or should i run some third party stuffÉ
  17. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

  18. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Duo Skin Themes

    Hauppauge MediaMVP Skin Replacement - Blue Raptor 1.00A

    [​IMG]
    Skin: New Release for 2008! Blue Raptor
    Version: 1.00A
    MediaMVP: Replacement Skin Theme
    Uploaded: Monday, April 28, 2008 04:31 PM
    Author: tipstir@yahoo.com
    Blog: http://tipstir.blogspot.com (more skins for Hauppauge MediaMVP here)
    Download: http://files.filefront.com/blue raptor100Aexe/;10097288;/fileinfo.html

    Hauppauge MediaMVP Skin Replacement - Black Raptor 1.00E

    [​IMG]
    Skin: Black Raptor
    Version: 1.00E
    MediaMVP: Replacement Skin Theme
    Uploaded: Monday, April 28, 2008 4:20 PM
    Update: 1.00E Fixed a bug on the menu items direction selection and display clock
    Author: tipstir@yahoo.com
    Blog: http://tipstir.blogspot.com (more skins for Hauppauge MediaMVP here)
    Download: http://files.filefront.com/black raptor100Eexe/;10097275;/fileinfo.html

    Note: Older Skin Themes: http://hosted.filefront.com/tipstir/
     
  19. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Hauppauge MediaMVP Skin Replacement - Blue Bubble v3.01

    [​IMG]

    Introducing Blue Bubble v3.01 5/23/08 Released

    I've completely re-done this theme from the ground
    up. Everything is changed to match the Hauppuage
    image you see under the Music that will be the selector
    throughout the entire theme. All menus, popup menus
    will have that selector. I've changed the OSD for those
    who use that feature.

    Note: There is a clock on the main menu for the above
    it's not shown in the image above.

    Also I might add their is a windows installer to install the
    skin mod gone is the SFX I use to use prior skin mods.

    I hope you like what you see, the next theme will be the
    fancy beta theme! Blue Bubble v3 sports a brand new
    background theme. I wanted to stay within the Hauppuage
    graphics as much as I could, but only the selector hints it's
    Hauppuage MediaMVP.

    Till next time... Note any comments just send me email to:
    tipstir@yahoo.com. If you have problems let me know also?

    Click on link below to download Blue Bubble v3.01

    http://hosted.filefront.com/tipstir
  20. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    VistaMVP v1.00b Skin Theme Replacement for Hauppauge MediaMVP

    [​IMG]

    Introducing VistaMVP v1.00b Skin Replacement Theme
    for Hauppauge MediaMVP


    This is a early pre-release, which was planned for June 2008,
    but in June I'll replace the above main screens and secondary
    menu screens with a new media icons plus new style matching
    the popup menus included in this v1.00b in the next v1.05c
    release.

    Everything has been replaced graphic wise to give you are sharp
    looking theme. There is a youtube demo video on this theme made by
    myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPwIynWtxy8

    Enjoy the the theme: http://hosted.filefront.com/tipstir
    File: Vistamvpv100b_setup.exe 1.97 MB release 5/28/08
  21. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

  22. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

  23. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Some more of MVP BOX Live Images

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  24. k.jacko

    k.jacko Newcomer, in training Posts: 743

    looks sweet tipstir. I wonder if you could recommend a decent media center software for vista hp 32bit and a dvb-c card (TT C-1501).
    Apparently Vista's media center doesn't recognise dvb-c cards and mediaportal can be problemtaic with them too.

    Thanks :)
  25. tipstir

    tipstir TS Ambassador Topic Starter Posts: 4,578   +76

    Thanks! I got another one to release with Internet Browsing feature... I am using SageTV at the moment for Recording off Live Analog CableTV and Digital Cable TV. I can't recommend Beyond TV has I never got it to record correctly and when you uninstall it it messes up the registry. Whatever you install make sure you backup your system to image so you can restore it later. This is a link of all the PVR software that is available today: http://www.videohelp.com/tools/sections/htpc


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.