Seven versions of Longhorn in 2006?

By Derek Sooman on
According to sources, Microsoft will be releasing the next generation Windows operating system currently code named "Longhorn" in May 2006, and there will be seven versions of the OS.

The seven editions will each be designed to cater for a different Windows user market, and will include Home Edition, Premium/Media Center Edition, Professional Edition and Small Business Edition. Additionally, there will be a `Longhorn "Uber" Edition` that will contain the functionality of the Home, Premium, Pro, Small Business, and Tablet PC Editions. On the other end of the scale, there will be a Starter Edition that will cater for the lower end of the market, offering a stripped-down, lower-cost version of the operating system.

Please remember that Microsoft has, as yet, confirmed none of this. It remains rumour, and even if based in truth (which it likely is) Microsoft have changed their plans many times before.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...
Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.