2 iexplore.exe processes in Task Manager since healing trojans

Status
Not open for further replies.

wsbarnhill

Hello,

I'm new to TechSpot. Although I've read the site guidelines, rules, etc., please excuse any ignorance on my part.

History
On Friday, 3/07/09 my PC was infected with a threat while running AVG Free Edition 8.0. While using the internet, my Internet Explorer 8.0 sessions began to be replicated as if I were repeatedly pressing Ctrl+N. I knew something had made its way to my PC. I had to end internet sessions via Task Manager. After rebooting, I noticed the threat kept resetting my Tools/Internet Options/Privacy level from Medium to Accept All Cookies. At this point the PC's response time ranged from really dragging to no response (such as when checking my Yahoo mail). Performed a complete system scan using AVG Free Edition and it found one trojan named FakeAlert.HJ in addition to tracking cookies. I also find a file had been placed into my temporary internet files folder named E.exe which I manually deleted. The PC issues described above still persisted.

I then downloaded and installed a trial (full working copy) of AVG's new Internet Security 8.5 version which is supposed to detect and quarantine any threat whatsoever including malware & root-kits. Discovered AVG Free Edition does not check for malware. After rebooting from the AVG Internet Security install, AVG reported it found a threat - File: A2SRCHAS.DLL Threat: IAC. Performed another full system scan using the new AVG I.S. 8.5 just installed but no new threats were found. On Monday, 3/10/09 AVG updates were available and more trojans were found.

I have attached an AVG Internet Security Ver. 8.5.276 Virus Vault.log which includes all the threats found and quarantined by the new AVG I.S. 8.5 which was installed on 3/07/09. The log is sorted by date & time for your convenience.

Existing Problem