Aion: The Tower of Eternity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zachariah

As a WoW player I have to say this game looks freaking awesome. The graphics alone far surpasses WoW and the PvP system looks really promising. I also like how they only have 6 classes oppose to WoW's 13 classes which IMO is one of the problems with the game. When you have too many classes trying to do one job you run into problems with trying to balance them like with the recent changes to DK tanks and block. I'm not in the beta or in one of the countries it's released in so I can't really comment on the game play, is anyone here playing it and can comment?

I've been playing it for a couple of months now and let me tell you it really is pretty awesome. For some reason I've been thinking there are more than 6 classes, but I'm too lazy to really confirm this. I'm currently a level 19 Templar playing on North China servers and the latency isn't too bad at all considering it's the other side of the world. It's much slower leveling than WoW (I played that since release) and is very solo oriented until lvl 30 from what I hear. I've only partied a couple of times and I think it was just a couple of bored Chinese players practicing their English. They were really nice though and immediately knew I was American (probably because they couldn't read my character name.) It's based on a Crytek engine but runs incredibly well. I sit around 100 fps at 1920x1200 2xAA on my setup, but I don't get anywhere near that kind of performance in Crysis. I currently have one of the Chinese child accounts so I'm not allowed to play for more than 3 hours at a time, but I've only hit that max twice in the last 2 months. It was kind of the reason I stopped playing WoW - I was never on anymore. If you're a fan of WoW, FF XI, and or Everquest then I think you'll like this. It's a bit of a mash-up of the three.