Asus a7n8x BIOS settings PLEASE!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
SO with 1gig Corsair PC3700 DDR Memory in the Asus a7n8x deluxe Mobo, Athlon XP 2400 CPU, with a great thermalright 800 heatsink- I currently have:
CPU Ext Freq: 166Mhz
CPU Freq Multiplier: 13x
Memory Freq: 100%
CPU Interface: Optimal
Resulting Freq: 166Mhz
CPU VCore: 1.750V
this produces 36C/96F temp..
I am new to BIOS/overclocking but I heard that I can take advantage the awesome 1gig memory that I have. Could anyone help me tweak my system.

Take a look at this thread before doing anything else.

Explaining step-by-step how to overclock would easily take a few hours to type without even going extremely indepth of the subject.

Luckily for you, there are hundreds of overclocking resources available for you to read on the web. Do a search from google, or even take a look at TechSpot's own overclocking guide.

you have some SERIOUSLY fast ram there - i wish my ram could do that - but you are limited in your overclocking by your CPU - anything under a 2500+ (i.e the palamino/throughbread a cores) is very difficult to overclock - im getting at 2500+ myself just so i can overclock it
the 2400+ is very hard to overclock simply because the 2400+ is the FASTEST they could get that core to go - thus it doesnt overclock very well.
if you want my recommendation buy urself a 2500+ for £60 and sell your 2400+ on ebay or similar for about £40 - problem solved.
*stops in his tracks* you 2400 has a 166 FSB? i thought the 2400+ were the last of the 133 FSB range...? are you sure? odd. *is now confused* :mad:
i hope something in that ramble helps

Steg

Originally posted by Steg
you are limited in your overclocking by your CPU - anything under a 2500+ (i.e the palamino/throughbread a cores) is very difficult to overclock - im getting at 2500+ myself just so i can overclock it
the 2400+ is very hard to overclock simply because the 2400+ is the FASTEST they could get that core to go - thus it doesnt