blue screen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,
Im new to this. Heres my specs.AMD Athlon XP 2000+ 1.66 GHz - 768 MB RAM - 40 gb HARD DRIVE

I just purchased a WD 120 GB passport USB HD, I installed it and after a little use, my computer just keeps restarting and going to BSOD. I can get into safe mode from there. Once I unplug the HD and restart a couple times it will go into normal mode. The error im getting from the BSOD is IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL - 0x0000000A - Im not sure what to do know as if I have it in normal mode and try to plug the USB HD in it, it restarts the computer and back to the BSOD. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I contacted WD and they couldnt state what the problem was, I uninstalled the external HD and now I cant even get into safe mode, once it starts to go to safe mode it goes to the system.bus settings and ends up going back to the BSOD, the HD techs said that my internal was probably failing and has failed. Im just not so surem but if thats it then Ill have to deal with it. Just seeing if anyone could help me out. Appreciate it.

Before you try the XP repair installation, I might suggest running a chkdsk. Could be your file system has corruption. If that doesn't work, then try an XP repair.

Tmagic650 said:
Good idea almcneil :approve: