Constant system restarts

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to Techspot, nice to be here. I've got an issue with this pc, here's the rundown. It's got Windows XP Home installed. 2.2 Ghz P4, 512 memory, 112 GB hard drive. It is constantly restarting and giving me errors. I'll attach a few minidumps. Here's what I have done to it to attempt to fix the issue. I've reinstalled Windows, replaced the motherboard with one that was claimed to have been new, I've replaced the CPU withe one that I believe to be good, I've tested the memory and hard drive and both test okay. I've taken out all expansion cards including the factory video card, there is no onboard video, and put in a brand new AGP video card. I've flashed my bios from the manufacturer's website, I've unhooked both cd-rom drives. I've updated video and network drivers from the web. I've unhooked the cables for the front panel audio, card reader, usb, etc ports. We're talking the hard drive with a fresh install of Windows, a new video card, a new mobo, a P4 CPU that should be good and that's pretty much it. The mini dumps that this computer provides show that sr.sys is the offending file, but I don't know how to fix this. I'm pulling my hair out here. I would appreciate any help some kind soul may be willing to provide. :-D

Attachments

• Mini040408-05.dmp
    64 KB · Views: 6
I believe sr.sys belongs to System Restore. Try disabling the System Restore service and see if the blue screens clear up for the time being.

Also, test your HDD with one of the utilities here: https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic7602.html. You might also want to consider replacing your HDD's data cable for the hell of it.