error message on start up

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello im a bit of a novice here can anyone explain very simply how to solve this
when starting up windows i get file not found - c\ windows\ system32\ aqepct \services\ exe not found
then if i close this it says application not found - same file name. i end up closing this four times in total.
i have had troajn horse but removed it using avg antivirus - but i dont think its all gone as pop ups occur on internet use.
i removed pe devicefile also.
i also get error message saying ipwins.dll file not found.
i rang computer shop -they suggest reinstalling windows xp but i dont want to do this as it means losing stored games etc or having to save programs on flash drive then reinstalling which im not sure how this works. please help.

You need more than just antivirus. You should install Spybot - search & destory, you should also get Avast antivirus home edition. Both these software are FREE.

I would try to unistall the program in the control panel, if this doesn't work (most likely won't) try to stop the program from starting with windows. click Start->Run->Type "msconfig" in the run window and press enter or click "ok". in here go to startup tab and look for the the file(s) that are missing and/or uncheck any that have to deal with the programs. Select apply and then ok. it will ask you to restart or exit without restart. restart it to apply the changes and then when windows reboots it there will be a window that comes up about the windows config application check the box to not show the message again and then click ok. This will not remove files assocciated with the programs but it may stop the annoying error messages. If this doesn't work i would also suggest a clean install of windows.

Both of these comments are good advice. Try them first. If all else fails, then the trojan has embedded itself into the registry.