Gigabyte GTX 780 GHz overclocking

Filip B

Hello guys, I've got a simple question I'm looking for anyone who tried to OC this card and could tell me his or hers experience with it. Whether it runs too hot. What is the perfect clock speed and etc.

Thanks for any replies.

I have one - in an SLI configuration with an EVGA SC.
Without upping voltage mine doesn't really OC that well ( 1070MHz core vs 1020MHz it ships with). Add a bit of voltage and it hits 1120 core (1225 boost) easily enough. It can go a little higher, but the EVGA can't keep pace (the Gigabyte is B1 silicon). Be aware that the Gigabyte's stock clock means absolutely nothing. Gaming with the card will peg the frequency at 1160-1198 depending upon the game or benchmark. Here's a Heaven run to show what I mean...
kF5qEoy.jpg

Thanks. I see however I'm kind of new to over clocking I tried to OC my cpu but that was fairly easy thanks to my ROG bios. However I have no experience with gpu over clocking. Is it safe to increase voltage? And at how much extra performance are we looking at (percent)? I can max out every game out there but I just want to know if there are possibilities for maxing out future games.

Is it safe to increase voltage?
Within reason. Using an overclocking utility such as Afterburner, Nvidia Inspector, or EVGA Precision allows you raise the voltage, but were talking millivolts.
And at how much extra performance are we looking at (percent)?
Not a lot. The GHz Edition is already clocked higher than just about any other 780. Aside from adding a points in a benchmark, you wouldn't notice the difference except the higher fan speed noise. The 780 GHz already equals a stock 780 Ti, further overclocking might net you maybe 5% more performance.
I don't generally overclock graphics cards on air cooling except for occasional benchmark runs.
I can max out every game out there but I just want to know if there are possibilities for maxing out future games.