Hard drive not recogized in my computer or disk management

hi i am new to this and 18 about to go to uni next week so i need some help and FAST! i bought a 320gb hardrive in june 2010 and it was perfect i made a back up of my whole HP system. However a friend of mine plugged my hardrive into her apple mac and i think my hardrive must have synced to her hardrive called time machine or something like that and now i am trying to use my hardrive in my hp laptop it wont work.

ive tried everything it wont show my computer i searched for help all over the net and with technicians on the phone saying to go into disk management and its not there either. One techinician was sayin i might have to reformat it on the mac.

this cost soo much money and i cant afford to buy another one nor can i afford to lose all my data on this one..

please is there a genius out there that can help me!!!!!!!!!!! :(

Timemachine shouldn't automatically synchronise to the hard drive, unless told to do so. Also, in order for time machine to function on that drive, it requires it to be formatted in the MacOSX native filesystem.

In case your not aware, Timemachine is Apple's backup software, designed to backup Apple systems.

If the data on the hard disk is not of any consequence (e.g. it contains no essential data), it can be formatted as NTFS, which will then be read by Windows. Unless it has been formatted as a Mac OSX partition it should be read natively anyway. In other words, it should be NTFS still.

Lets go back to basics:

1. If it's an internal hard drive, does BIOS identify the hard disk?
2. Your positive disk management doesn't identify the hard disk?

You could use a bootable partition editor like GpartED to boot from the DVD drive and inspect all your connected partitions.

You could also boot from a Linux Live distribution like Ubuntu as well, which would enable you to check your connected partitions/drives.