Help deciding on cpu/mobo before I buy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

OnePanda

Hey guys, I'm going to order my new setup either tomorrow or friday, but I'm hung up on what cpu/combo to get. Here's what I've narrowed it down to....

Mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&SubCategory=22

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...SubCategory=343

For the mobo...I'd like to have support for SATAII for the 2x hitachi drives..SLI is not necessary because I plan on upgrading a few months down the road...but I have some questios concerning the raid on these boards.......

The UT nF4 SLI-DR and nF4 SLI-DR have " NV RAID 0/1/0+1 JBOD", whereas the Ultra-D only has "raid 0/1" ..what's the difference in the two? Also, the firs two mobos (ut/nf4 sli-dr) have an additional sata raid and additional raid controller "sli 3114", but the Ultra-D doesn't...will any of this effect the performance of the hitachi sataII hdds in raid 0?

For the cpu...I'm new to overclocking, but I'm willing to take the time to learn/test so I'd like to get it to 2.4ghz or if higher is possible (stable) on stock heatsink/fan or si-120/120mm fan...

Since I'll be upgrading later on I wanted to keep this as close to $1000 as possible or maybe a little over...the rest of the computer is listed in my sig (price for those items is $627) so for the remaining money I'd like to get the best cpu/mobo combo possible...I'm open to other suggestions on the rest of the comp parts too, but I'll primarily use this as a gaming computer (quake4)

Thanks for the suggestions :D

To stay in budget(about $270), you'd have to get a 3000+ and the ultra d.
The 3200+ is also a good deal at only $10 more. Both the 3000+ and 3200+ are supposedly good oc'ers if you get a good revision.