Inactive I fear about remote control

Status
Not open for further replies.
Friends, I am sorry if such questions already exist but I cant find an answer and I hope you can give me some help with that :)
I had to live with a roommate last winter, with who we went in very bad relations, especially at the end. We knew each other from before so things got like personal. I left the place more than half an year ago, but all of a sudden a friend gave me the idea that my laptop could be used remotely.. I started to freak out becuase I keep very importan information and accounts on my machine (Dell inspiron), and not only mine but to some imoprtant people. If this guy could have remotely logged, he could have done a lot of trouble and the traces would be leading to my IP/machine. Even if its just paranoia, I am not very good with software and stuff(although do know a thing or two), here are a few questions and I will be happy if someone gets me some information..

1.The laptop was always protected with password (I only have my admin account) Is there any possible way for a keylogger to be installed when I was gone whitout this guy being able to unlock it? Could he have plugged some tiny usb flash/some memory card or even disk that wont notice, so when I sing in the laptop it to isntall some spying stuff automaticly, or it will need ant permission to start installing. Because thats the only way I can imagine he could get his hands on.