Is it worth it? MCSE

Raz

Hi all

Just wonderin if I can get some advice on these courses...mcse, mcsa etc. How long do they take? are they hard and how much do they cost?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Raz

(I got a computer science degree, and i'm interested in hardware/networking/win2000)

Ps does anyone know any info about ukittraining.com? Anyone gone through them or heard anything about them?

Length of time?....depends if you're intructor led or not, self teaching, will take months..

Hard?....depends on your level of skill, knowledge and ease of picking things up.. some bits are dreadfully easy, some however, are not ;)

Cost?... instructor led courses, ran by companies such as Azlan and people like that could set you back up2 £6000 (from last look) but they do deals for people not doing it through companies.. otherwise <£200 on books should see you through.

The test and courses are hard and very time consuming and fairley costly, so my advice would be, when you do decide which route you are going to take, dedicate yourself to it and don't underestimate the material cause its to much time and money not to take it seriously.

Good luck, hope you do well!!;)

You will have to be driven to complete it ... that's for sure. I went the self paced route - and did it fairly quickly. I did the core in 10 weeks then took my time on my electives, but some of those nights I didn't sleep at all - just stayed up all night studying with some buddies. I lived in #MCSE on several irc servers and asked lots of questions. It also helped that I had my own domain set up at home. I believe the test prices have gone up to $150/test now from $125 - prolly about the same in euro. Only thing is I don't know how helpful it would be in the european economy - my bet is Phant would have a good idea on that.

Any learning that you do is worth it if you come away from it knowing more than you did before you started.