Limited or No Connection - Unable to Renew IP Address

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've read a few forums online regarding this issue, but have not found one that will resolve my problem. I have an HP ze2000 that will not connect to the internet. I have tried wirelessly (and can connect to my router with other devices, so I know that is not the issue), via ethernet, and have even tried using my blackberry as a modem. With both wireless and ethernet it says it's connected with limited or no connectivity. When trying to repair, it gives an error that it can't renew my IP address. With the Blackberry (thru Standard Modem), it shows that it's connected, but still no access to the internet.

I have to admit I'm not that tech savvy, but I do learn quickly and can comprehend well. I've already tried (with the hep of a tech support rep) most of the steps listed in the previous forum www . techspot . com/ vb/all/windows /t-28312- Unable-to-renew-ip- address--limited-connectivity .html (remove spaces). This includes checking Device Manager, checking Network Connection properties, checking Windows Log errors, running Winsock (don't remember exactly what, but I just wrote in what the tech guy said and I know it had something to do with renew/refresh and some other stuff), as well as restarting after cancelling all the startups and system stuff in msconfig (to make sure nothing was interfering) and still get the same… the one thing I haven't done is to uninstall and reinstall the driver, but I'm not sure if that would even help considering it's happening on the ethernet (Realtek), wireless (broadband 802 wlan), and standard modem. I also pulled up ipconfig/all because that was suggested in another forum, but not sure what to look for (listed below is some of the stuff I noticed, not sure if it has to do with anything)…

IP routing not enabled
Wins proxy not enabled
Wireless Net Connection:
AutoConfig enabled.
default gateway is blank.