Linux on an external harddrive?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I'm kinda new to all of this, and I'd like some help or a link to some help, if possible :]

two things:

1. - Would it be possible to install Linux and run it off of an external harddrive that connects through usb without modifying any other parts of the computer?

I ask because I want to experiment with Linux and I'm afraid to do so on this computer's harddrive (it's shared with other people...). I read about the distro cd's and wondered if I could do much the same with an external harddrive. (so I can go beyond just testing it)

Also, there is a second computer that I can use (only in emergencies), but I can't modify it at all... so I was wondering if I could use that external harddrive without having to change anything on the emergency computer.

2. - The second is what extra would I have to do outside of regular installation to make this work, if it's possible?
(I would just ask what I have to do step by step, but I figure you get enough of that and there were plenty of places I found that can tell me that)

The shared computer is Windows XP and the emergency one is Vista

thanks to anyone who bothers to read this and can help :D
and to everyone else, have a good day :p

pk para said:
two things:

1. - Would it be possible to install Linux and run it off of an external harddrive that connects through usb without modifying any other parts of the computer?

I ask because I want to experiment with Linux and I'm afraid to do so on this computer's harddrive (it's shared with other people...). I read about the distro cd's and wondered if I could do much the same with an external harddrive. (so I can go beyond just testing it)
get the Knoppix CD
you can boot directly from it and run Linux w/o an install :)