Need advice on printers

Just joined this forum - seems to have some pretty good answers! I'm looking for advice on a project I'm working on. I'm involved with the Odyssey of the Mind creative problem solving program here in Delaware. The program has grown so much over the last decade we now need to run two tournaments on the same day and can no longer rely on volunteers to supply laptops and printers for our competition sites. I'm starting to look at buying about 14 laptops and printers for our use. However, they will only be needed for about two months a year (February & March). Can anyone offer advice on whether its best to buy inkjet or laser printers? I'm concerned about storing the equipment in an unheated/cooled mini-storage facility through the worst of the winter as well as the summer.

2 months out of a year. Hmmm! I wonder if you could reach an agreement with a rental company. It could cut storage cost and present you with new equipment each year.

I'm not an expert on printing equipment but I would lean toward Laser Printers. I've had several issues with Inkjet. Inkjet printouts will smear, if they get even the slightest bit wet. Over unused time, Inkjet printing head will dry and cause issues. This is probably my mileage only but, I've had more paper jams with Inkjet than I have with Laser.

I've only had dealings with two Laser printers.
  • The first is an HP LaserJet 6P, which is a black and white laser printer. I've never had an issue with this printer. No matter how long between printing, it is always ready to go. If the pages start to fade, the cartridge can be shaken a few times before they need replacing.