New PC build will not start, but it looks great

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi This is my first post, so a quick hello to all. I have been playing with computers for the last 10 years. I finally decided to build a PC myself for a couple of reasons, one is for a greater undstanding of these machines themselves, and I have always loved to build and create things.
Here's my problem: I bought all the individual components, making sure that they were all compatable. I spent a couple of days reading the manuals and putting the PC together. The big moment came to flip the switch and see my creation light up and beep to show the world my brilliance. Alright, I know that everyone of you is laughing, because you know what happened next. Nothing.Nada.Zilch. I would would some help for common problems and solutions. Thanks

The best option is to benchtest the Motherboard
All extra connections and parts removed, being:
  • Only power and Video connected
  • Only 1 known compatible Ram card installed
  • Hard drive (actually all drives) disconnected from Motherboard
  • Even try momentarily disconnecting the CPU fan (say for about 5 secs)
  • All extra addon cards removed
  • USB and front connectors removed
  • etc..

This information can be found here:
try Benchtesting the motherboard

Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately it failed. I have already switched PSU's. I had only the Mobo,CPU,Video Card, and 1 stick of Ram in the #1 slot connected to the PSU. Nothing. I can tell it drawing power when I turn on the the I/O (a light dimmed slightly)but nothing happened to the PC. I've heard about taking it out of the case and testing it to see if it is shorting out on the case, but I have the correct brass stand offs in place. What do you think? Thanks again for your response.

There is likely a short somewhere.