No signal to my monitor unless I use onboard graphics

I have a Cooler Master 650W power supply and a Nvidia Geforce 8800gt. Last week I decided to install a really old game I have which is incompatible with new video cards so I shut down my computer and unplugged my VGA cable out of my DVI-to-VGA adapter (In my video card) and plugged it into my VGA port on my motherboard to use onboard graphics for this old game.

When I tried to switch my computer on I got no signal whatsoever so I plugged my VGA cable back into my video card then I get no signal again. After about 2 days of googling this problem and posting problems on forums on my iphone (torture!) someone told me to remove my video card physically then use onboard graphics.

My computer monitor now displays! But I can't use my nvidia 8800gt anymore! Does anyone know the fix to this?

More info: When my video card is physically in my motherboard my monitor won't display anything even if my VGA cable is in the motherboard. When I plug my VGA cable into port 1 of my video card my monitor light is green but the screen stays black. If I use port 2 my monitor gets no signal and the light is orange!

Also I noticed my PSU fan doesn't spin anymore but the fan on my video card spins fine.

Help will be greatly appreciated!

once youve insert a graphics card into the board it alot of time becomes the primary display. this setting can also be manipulated in the bios of some computer manufacturers. Your monitor is probably not getting a signal becuase the adapter is not enable in the computer or the settings of the card are not set to spec that can display on your monitor (resolution to high or low, refresh rate, etc)

Thank you for the reply :)

How would I re-enable my graphics card? When my graphics card is in my PCI-e port I can't even go into BIOS as my screen just stays black (No signal comes up if I use port 2 on my graphics card). This problem has been occuring for a week now ahh.