Not sure about heat....HELP!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

darby26

Hi

I have just replace my PSU and added a case fan to my PC after a lot of reboot prob's.

I replaced a 300w 15amp cheap brand with a 550w 20amp tri fan slightly dearer brand PSU. I also added a case fan to the back of my pc, as I didnt have any previously, which is blowing out.

Now...the problem

My CPU seems to be running hotter than before.

I am confused. I am no techie so plain english would be great.

As for the PSU...I bought what I could afford.

Do you have any suggestions?

Please see below for details of system and temps

System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 2/17/2007, 11:26:04
Machine name: MINE
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: GBT___
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Memory: 768MB RAM
Page File: 318MB used, 1175MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

Temps

CPU 58c
SYS 44c
AUX 25c
HD0 41c
HD1 45c

When I play a very small game the CPU temp can rise to 80c. I also have the side off the case for greater airflow

Please help

Thanks
darby26

Buy some arctic silver 5, remove CPU heatsink, then clean the CPU and heatsink with rubbing alcohol.

I will do that but...should I purchase a new heatsink and fan to go with it?

And if so...what type should I get?

Thanks in advance

darby26

My best guess would be that the old PSU was holding back the CPU, keeping its operating freq down and masking some problem with the heatsink/fans.

I'd say replace the stock cooling and maybe stick another fan or two in your case, P4's are scorchers.