Overclocking no good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jb444

Hi, im quite new to all this and (if i can ever get my computer working) I was thinking of overclocking the am2 x2 4200+ just to get my moneys worth (bought a Zalamn CNP9500 AM2 for it).
But having read here and many other sites about the extra cooling needed, and the reduced life of components, I figured that the extra money spent on replacing components (50% reduced life for every 10C incrase in temp i read somewhere) and the extra cost of the hardware.
Wouldnt it be a helluva lot easier just to spend that money on better components and save yourself the hassle while getting longer life out of your pc?
I'm happy to be corrected its just from what ive read overclocking gives the same performance increase per pound spent as forking out for a better processor, faster RAM etc.

everyones gonna have their own opinions of overclocking. Pros is that you can (depending on how good your hardware is) achive the same or exceed the power/speed of next model up (sometimes) without paying the extra $$ to start with, and obvious brag rights (lookie here.. mines better than yours!:D). Cons is as you've mentioned heat and reduced life, not to mention that some OCs can void warranty..

Of course, since OC does put more stress on the PC, adequate cooling is advised so you can OC to a more noticable level and still keep some stability at that level. hence it wouldn't be advisable to do this kind of thing if you live in the Simpson Desert without an air con...

That is, as you say, if you can get your PC to work first before attempting to OC it :)

Although if you're the kind of person who buys tech every 3-6 months or so often i don't think that lifespan will bother you, since you'd probably move on to something new before it goes anywhere near dieing