Problems with troubleshooting....plz help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Problems in troubleshooting(monitor blank)....plz help.

Hi everyone.....
Requesting help in troubleshooting a problem i encountered. I am troubleshooting my friend's PC. The PC has two Harddisks of 40GB each, a DVD burner, a CD burner, a floppy drive , 128(Hyundai 133Mhz) + Micron make 133MHz + hyundai 256Mhz.etc., The problem is that nothing shows up on the monitor (and the monitor LED light is orange). PC boots normally with a clunking harddisk sound, one long beep followed by two short beeps(no beeps after that). I've checked that the harddisks work(by the whirring sound). I have tried reseating the RAM and Video card (Before which i was getting continous short beeps). Also to be noticed is that, among the LED lights (at the computer cabinet-front) the "power" LED shows green, the other two(guessing one among them is for the harddisk) show amber or orange :confused: .
I am a novice in such hardware stuff and hence request suggestions from the experts. Thanx in advance.

Thx Vegas...

Thanx for the reply vegas...
...were u referring to the continous short beeps or the long one followed by two short ones. If u were referring to the short ones, i gez i managed to set it right(going by the beepcode in one of the website) i.e now i get the long beep immediately followed by two shorter ones. But if u referring otherwise, wud u suggest i go in for a new video card? Also does the Amber LED light corresponding to a "cylinder" etch(in the front of the PC cabinet) got to do anything with the blank screen. Has anyone else encountered such a problem?

Hi

For a quick diagnoise, disconnect all devices connection e.g harddisk , cd-rom, DVD rom , floppy drive.

Leave only video card (if add-on) and memory to start with.

add one device and start up again. Last one to add is your harddisk.