question about video cards

Status
Not open for further replies.

tappingthevein

I am buying my first laptop, i know im a rookie. Well i have no idea what to look for in a video card. I know my younger brother likes to play world of warcraft, and i was wondering if i need a certain graphics card to play this game, or if it comes with my laptop. any feedback is apprecited.

I need to know what laptop your getting and its specs. Here is a list for WOW system requirements:

* Intel Pentium® III 800 MHz or AMD Athlon 800 MHz
* 512 MB or more of RAM
* 32 MB 3D graphics card with Hardware Transform and Lighting, such as NVIDIA® GeForce™ 2 class card or above
* DirectX® 9.0c (included) and latest video drivers
* 6.0 GB available HD space
* 4x CD-ROM drive
* A 56k or better Internet connection

I'm pretty sure a 2-3 year old laptop could play this game. But for optimal performance, get a newer laptop.

im not exactly sure what laptop to get either. haha. it will be my first computer, but i'm looking into a Dell Inspiron B130 . it has 1 gig DDR2 SDRAM and 80 gig hard drive. thats all i know. is that an okay laptop?

The inspiron b130 may not be good enough to play wow so you need a different laptop. also there is no upgrading video cards on laptops. you need an xps to play wow.

laptops are tricky for gaming. Unlike a desktop, the graphics card you get is pretty much what you will always have. No upgrading. So if you have a hair on your body that likes games (and the extra bucks to blow), get yourself a notebook that will last a few years.

Something with at least a geforce GO 6800 series, preferably the 7800 series.

If you are a bajillionaire, get one with the 7900 series.

thats an ok labtop my friend has the same one. the graphics card is ehhhh kinda crappy even for a labtop, it costs around 900 dollars or more. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16834115223