Random BSODs on full load

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey folks... I'm new here, but this seems to be where the system gurus hang out (I'm an application programmer).

Long story short, I Just upgraded my system, and I'm hitting semi-random BSODs whenever I leave it at full load for a little while. The messages vary, and sometimes they give a driver, but it's usually IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL or PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA.

Here's my specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600, 2GB SDRAM (2 x 1GB)
DFI Infinity 975X/G motherboard
Dynex 400W PSU (14-15A on the +12V)
*SB Audigy 2 ZX Platinum (with drive bay addon)
ATI Radeon X1600 Pro
*160GB SATA1 hard drive (3GB swap file)
*DVD/CDRW drive
*DVDRW drive
Thermaltake Soprano case (3 fans)

(* = old. The rest are brand new)

I've checked for BIOS upgrades, I have the latest Catalyst (6.9), latest Audigy drivers.
I'm running XP Pro w/SP2. I've already tried a full chkdsk (With surface scan), full defrag, and recreating the swapfile (As suggested in the sticky thread).

I've done a lot of experimenting, and the bluescreens only occur during peak CPU usage. My first thought was a temperature problem, hence the new case. I've been monitoring it carefully, and the temperature ranges I'm getting are:

System: 33-40C
CPU: 43-50C
Northbridge: 47 - 54C

I originally thought the NB temp was the problem, hence the new case (I was running on an old Antec with only one fan), but I've seen crashes as low as 52C.

I have a theory about this, but I just spent a hundred on a new case when I didn't really need it, and I'm trying to avoid making another shopping trip unless I have a good idea it'll help.

I'd provide a minidump, but it's not creating them, despite being set up correctly. Apparently it's dying before it gets a chance to write one, as my last minidump is dated from July...

So, any suggestions?

edit: Mixed up the motherboard brand name... It's DFI.