The page cannot be displayed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lindy

Every time that i go into the web and i need to access additional link i get the message "the page cannot be displayed" and i don't know whats going on. Can anyone help me.

firewall restrictions?

do you have a firewall installed ?

you may have to configure your firewall to accept an indirect cookie...

meatologist
Thanks for the quick reply I'm new to the computer game and I'm not sure if i have a firewall??? And i'm not sure about conf the cookies. Can you help me farther.

Lindy

Lindy said:
meatologist
Thanks for the quick reply I'm new to the computer game and I'm not sure if i have a firewall??? And i'm not sure about conf the cookies. Can you help me farther.

Lindy
If you dont have a firewall, then your issue may be due to Spyware on your PC. Spyware is an annoyance that plagues this super highway that you're plugged into as we speak...

some spyware stops your net connection - or changes your internet settings....or just causes plain havoc with your machine....

If you do not have a firewall or any internet security, then turn your computer off and go the the nearest PC retailer and purchase some well needed protection...or alternatively download a free firewall application, like ZoneAlarm...

www.zonealarm.com

You can also run a free Spyware checker from the zonealarm website....

CHECK FOR INTERNET SECURITY PROGRAMS:

Take a look in Start, All Programs
Look for anything that may resemble an anti-virus or security program like Norton or McAfee

They may be called Norton Internet Security or McAfee Internet Security Suite...

If you bought this PC new, then it may have been pre-installed....

alternatively, take a look in by the system clock (usually bottom right hand corner) and just hover the mouse over the icons.....see if anything suggests anti-virus or security.