Thermal grease issue (pic included)

Status
Not open for further replies.
well this is my first time using thermal grease on a cpu, on my others i just used the pad on the heatsink... i scraped the pad off of my heatsink and put thermal grease on my cpu. but i had no idea how bad the stuff liked to smear. so my cpu has thermal grease kind of smeared all over the top of it now.

amd_xp_2000_palomino_core_cpu.jpg

will rubbing alcohol remove the thermal grease from the green area of my chip? i noticed there is a light coating over some of the bridges, rubbing alcohol should be able to remove the thermal grease from that area allowing my cpu to safely run, shouldnt it?

Thanks in advance!
Mark

btw, I bought an asus a7n8x-x motherboard monday, it's arriving at my house today, so i wanted to make sure my cpu was cleaned up properly before installing it into my new motherboard. the asus motherboard is to replace my ECS k7s5a pro motherboard (which turned out to have fried my 1ghz amd thunderbird cpu, it wasnt me that caused it after all).

Yes, using alcohol will remove the thermal paste without a problem... Just make sure it's a "clean" alcohol, and not something oily like White Spirit..

Use a Q-Tip or something similar to do it, as there is no need to drench the entire chip in alcohol... (And it'll make it easier to get the paste away from the bridges...)

A small other point, as long as you clean the bridges, you don't have to clean the rest, as that's just ceramics... But it's allways nicer to have a clean chip, as less dust will attach itself to it....

ok thank you!

by the way, the chip didnt seem to be ceramic, or is it just a different type of ceramic than the thunderbird chips?

anyway, thanks again for your help!