unable to load windows at all.. just a blue screen every time

Status
Not open for further replies.
im not very good at discribing things. my computer was acting all screwy louie so i decided to format. i HAD a dual-boot 98 SE / 2000 Professional. so when i formatted my c drive, i has a windows XP disc and i decided to install... when it asked me what kind of drive to use, i just kept if FAT32 and i didnt convert it to NTFS. When it was installing, i had tons of files that it said it couldn't find on the disc. i tried retrying to install them, but it wouldn't work, so i just skipped them.. now, when i load my computer, i get the Windows XP startup screen, followed by a blue XP screen that says "Setup is being restarted", then i come across a plain blue screen that says in white text, "STOP: c0000135 {Unable to locate component} This application has failed to start because USP10.DLL was not found. Re-installing the application may fix the program. :confused: Now im stuck. that is all that happens every time i try restarting it. Please someone help me out! :(

Try reinstalling XP. Skipping those files during install is most likely the problem here. Make sure the CD is has no dirt or anything on it, which could be causing certain files not to be found. If the CD has a lot of bad bad scratches, then I would recommend finding another XP CD. If you can't get another XP CD, then reinstall the OS you had before.

Most important thing first, clean the CD, and try a reinstall.

nvm

thanks for the help, but i just found out you cant install XP from a DOS prompt... you have to have some OS on your pc before you install XP. im gettin a windows 98 disc now so all will be fine :) thanks for your help anyways! :grinthumb

That is totally false. You can install XP on a pc without any os on there. You should be able to boot from the XP cd, format a partition to install XP, and then do the actual install.