Using Knoppix To Recover Files Help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Basically, I have a bad hard drive with some files on it that I need to get off. I read that Knoppix was a good way to browse the drive and get what I need....

I downloaded Knoppix, burned it to disc, booted it with the bad hard drive as the only Hard drive connected, as master.

I was under the impression that an icon would be there on the desktop that would take me to the root of each partition on the drive. However, there is no such icon...

When knoppix was booting, the hard drive was detected and it was labeled 'hda' I beleive...

I'm very new to the linux OS and am still trying to figure out how to browse the system...I'm looking in /media...but the drive doesn't show up...

Please help me out, :). If there is another solution to this besides Knoppix...please let me know.

Second paragraph of part 2 -

There will be a series of icons down the left side of the screen. The ones labeled "Hard Disk Partition" are the hard drives in your computer. If you can, find one labeled "Hard Disk Partition [hda1]" or "[sda1]". If you can't, just pick the top one. This is probably the drive that is called "C:" in windows. Click on this icon. This will bring up a window that looks similar to the Windows Explorer File Manager. This window will have a directory tree view on the left, and an icon view on the right. If the drive you found is your C drive, the icon view on the right will have some icons called things like "Program Files", "winnt", "windows", "My Documents", "recycled", "Documents and Settings", etc. If you are disappointed by what is on this drive, or you get an error message, close the window and try another one.​

That is precisely what I'm trying to do...the only 3 icons on my desktop are...

KNOPPIX - Some HTML file on the CD
Floppy Disc - To browse the floppy drive, yes its connected.
Trash Bin

I don't see my Hard drive at all...which is the problem.