When turning power on fans start but then fade -- do I need to replace PSU?

When switching on power to my computer I find the mobo led lights and the fan over the processor starts to turn but then the power fades and the fans stop. As I am new to DIY computer repair can anyone confirm for me my suspicions ( from reading articles on the web), that my problem is a failed PSU and I should replace it ?

Thank you for your time in responding
My system specs are in my profile

Also any recommendation on what to replace the psu with if indeed I do need to replace it.

Regards
M. O'Hara

We cannot give you many helpful comments based on what little you have told us. Resubmit with the model number, or the motherboard information with configuration for hard drive, memory installed, power supply, etc... and how long you have had it... along with the history of how well it has worked. If you know the hard drive, post that as well.

It could be dust and dirt in the CPU fan or cooler, old hard drive that is wearing out. Inadequate memory for todays machine,
The more you tell the participants of this list, the more helpful we will be in rooting out the problem.
On first look, it could be a failed power supply or failed hard dreive, or overheating CPU.

Thanks for the quick reply Raybay.
My specs are in my profile and I was hoping you could read them. However here is the information.

I have had this system for just under 1 yr and there is very little dust inside the case or on the fans. The system had been running without a glitch until one day when turning on the power button I got the problem I mentioned above. I think I may have detected the faint smell of something burnt the first time this happened.

PSU - 850 Watt ThermalTake Power supply
Processor - Intel Core i7-950 3.06GHz 8M 1366 CPU
Mobo - Asus Sabertooth X58
Graphics cards - Dual ( Xfire ) Radeon 5770 1GB GDDR5 PCIE VC
Memory - 6 x Corsair 2GB DDR3 1600MHz PC3-12800