Which mobo to get with this setup?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi i'm new to building computer and after doing some research and seeing how easy it is i'm going build a whole new rig to update my 3yr old p4 rig i'm using now.

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231122

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115037
Either this or
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115017
Would I notice a difference in gaming if I went with the quad core... the price is almost the same so whichever will do me better in the long run i'll get.

MSI NX8800GT 512M OC GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127329
Is there any difference in this one and the EVGA 8800GT, from what I could tell they had the exact same specs but the MSI one was 25$ cheaper.

Well thats what I plan on buying, right now I have a 250GB SATA hardrive which is plenty for my needs and a Rosewill 500wat PSU. My case is just some crappy v2 case, is it worth buying another? Also there's not too much room in my case to add more 120mm fans... does it hurt if I just cram them in there?

What I really need help with is which mobo to buy. I have a decent understanding of how all the other computer parts work and which are the best to get for my budget but as for as Mobo's go i'm at a complete lost. I'm looking for something around the 100$ range, cheaper is better if it'll do what I need but if not I don't mind shelling out the dough for the 100$ range. Any suggestions?