8 Steps Removal Done--Possible Vundo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyjinx

Hi,

I'm actually new to these sorts of message boards but I need help. For the last 3 days I've gotten alerts from Windows Defender that I've had Vundo, also alerts for it from AVG before I switched to Avira, I've removed it each time but it keeps returning. I've done the 8 steps and Vundo wasn't mentioned but I still think it's there. I saw somewhere that it could hide in the restore files. Could someone have a look at my logs please and tell me if it's gone? I've never read them before and don't know what to look for.

Hi Hyjinx

Just to let you know i will take a look at your logs tomorrow just so you are not left in the dark as to what is happening.

However before i look at them can you:

Right click you Hijackthis icon and go to properties

Then rename the Hijackthis icon to analyse this or something similar.

Then re scan and post the new log. This is because some programs can hide from Hijackthis and make things difficult.

Thanks

Just rename it in General Tab? Not the Path name or Startup file?

If so, I did that. Here's the log...

HyJinx

I can see by your log files this may be a company computer or one you use to connect to a company?
NOVELL network, Lotus Notes, Corporate Domain ?
Please let me know your type of connection is it VPN or SSL
just want to keep you safe and not have things broken...

This the one i want to know about O1 - Hosts: 172.17.226.89 HC1

General cleanup is needed and will hurt anything
Right Click on MyComputer icon and go to properties
Turn Off system restore
open IE and go to TOOLS OPTIONS delete temporary internet files and cookies
do a disk cleanup in your Start/accessories/system tools/ Menu

download malwarebytes and install

BEFORE YOU DO THIS remember the connection O1 - Hosts: 172.17.226.89 HC1

run hijackthis and malwarebytes at the same time