A consultation

abbasi

Hello,

I’m 30 and have the bachelor degree in computer software engineering field. I said that so that you note that I have an academic degree. But what level of skill the period of getting that degree gave me? Nothing! No skill in fact.

From that 4 years of learning lessons in university I just have been learning theoretical information. No any practical techniques. I even haven’t been taught to install an operating system like Windows! Do you believe?

I graduated. After some time I thought I need to do something. I thought I should ready myself for real world of work. OK but how? While my language is not English (and even is not near of it) and most of the sources are in this language now. And what books, what courses I need take and many many other questions.

I decided to start. One thing that I was interested in was programming. I had pleasure when codes would run statements successfully after my attempts.
So I continued to learning programming (in C++ programming language) by books and at the end I wanted to complete my programming knowledge by reading the book of its creator (this book: http://www.stroustrup.com/programming1.html). I’m reading it still.

Since operating systems were/are so important, in addition to Windows 7, I tried to learn BSD (this book: http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/) and Linux.
I’m reading that book about FreeBSD and one about Ubuntu now.

OK, what is the key of proceeding nowadays? Yes, the English language.
I tried very hard, actually hard, for learning it. It was very hard for a graduated student that wouldn’t know much about it to start again and tries to learning it without teacher! But I had to. Now I’m not very good and also not bad in it. I’m reinforcing myself each day and night.