Another new gaming box thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

fenris

I will be in the market to purchase a new gaming box in the next month or so. I checked out the prebuilt stuff but I think I can do it cheaper and better myself . I haven't built a computer in eight years though. My tentative budget is around $2000 for everything. I have never overclocked a thing in my life so I'm a little hesitant to do so. I'm a OC noob so I guess it's something I need to read up on before diving into it.

A lot has changed hardware-wise since I last cracked a case for a build. My googlefu led me to some of the more recent "help me build a gaming rig" threads here (phenominal advice from the forum members btw) and I have composed the below list of items (previously recommended to another poster by Rage_3K_Moiz) to purchase. I'm still a few weeks away from having the moola but I wanted to see if you guys see anything that I can tweak/change. Any input is appreciated.

CASE: Antec 900 ($120)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply - Retail ($120 >mir)
MOBO: ASUS P5E LGA775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard Retail ($225)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400 - Retail ($195)
CPU COOLER: ZEROtherm Nirvana NV120 120mm 2-ball UFO Bearing / Transparent CPU Cooler - Retail ($40 >mir)
MEMORY: X2 - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 Dual Channel Kit Retail BL2KIT12864AA1065 ($100 >mir for 4GB total)
GPU: XFX GeForce 9800 GX2 1GB 2x256bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP & SLI Ready Video Card Retail PVT98UZHF9 ($520 >mir)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM ($100 >mir)
MONITOR: 2253BW Black 22" 2ms(GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor with HDCP Support 300 cd/m2 DC 8000:1 - Retail ($270 >mir)
KEYBOARD: Undecided
MOUSE: Undecided
MISC: Undecided