atlantis sapphire ati 9500 problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering if anyone can help me which this problems as i dont know alot about video cards. Ive had my ati9500 for about a year now and when i run games the pixels go all strange like in this screenshot i took http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/2586/shot000022dc.jpg
It even happens on websites now. Ive changed the fan on the card as i thought it might not be cool enough but still the same so i was wondering if it was screwed up ?

hey dude, i took a look at that screenshot, which was handy, now i'm not a pro or anything, but my suggestions would be one of two things. either try and update the graphics card drivers, and see if that helps, and/or it could be that your graphics card is overheating. I used to have an old 9250SE a while back, and that overheated regularly, when starting games, trying to play too high end graphics on a low end cheap card. and gave me very similar pixelated problems... just a couple of idea's... hope it helps...

Thanks for the info :D ill try a new fan also i was looking around on the net and i heard you need a good psu for these sort of cards and i checked mine and it its only a 230w psu should i bet a much better one ?

Heat

That really looks like a heat issue to me as well. I would look at the ventilation of your system and see if maybe your internal temp is getting too high. Does the problem happen immediately or only after a bit of gaming?

Yeah it does happen from the very start im sure it must be my system getting to hot. i was planning on getting a new case and heatsink but ill get ill get them sooner and a new fan for the video card.