Burning audio CDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Knot2Brite

Hello,
I am not technically orientated so I hope you will excuse how I present this.

CDs that I burned will play in my automobile CD player (it's 10 years old) but not in my clock radio or a CD player in the kitchen. I've tried several different programs with the same results. I am assuming there is some setting that I need to be alert to.

Any and all thoughts will be very much appreciated.

Thank you

Bob

I specifically instructed the program that was to be an audio rather than data CD. Afterwards I use Windows Explorer to look at the disk and all of the files were CDA. Without any special effort the CD would play in my automobile so I know it was audio.

Someone else reminded me of the importance of finalizing the disk. Media Center automatically does that by using a question -- do you understand you will not be able to add anything further to this disc? That closes the disk which is proven by its playing in my automobile.

What else?

Hello,
I am not technically orientated so I hope you will excuse how I present this.

CDs that I burned will play in my automobile CD player (it's 10 years old) but not in my clock radio or a CD player in the kitchen. I've tried several different programs with the same results. I am assuming there is some setting that I need to be alert to.

The CD burner in your computer is most likely out of alignment with the other 2 players you have tried. Or, the other 2 players are not compatible with the computer burned discs. The fact that you cite using several burning programs mostly points to this.

My only suggestion is to;
(1) turn down the speed of the CD burner,
(2) attempt to use the discs in a high quality component CD player.
(3) replace the CD burner.

The only other thing I can think of is an outside possibility is that DRM in the source for the CDs might still be present and affecting playback.