Buying a new Laptop and I could use some advice

So I am looking at buying a new laptop, and instantly I went to Newegg. I have been looking around and narrowed it down to 2 MSI gaming laptops.

Laptop 1
Laptop 2

I asked my cousin his opinion, since he does a lot with computers, and he essentially told me;
  1. The specs on both are horrible (since the only difference is the color and RAM)
  2. The processors on both will be slower then his current computer (which is a standard DELL with a 2nd or 3rd gen i5)
  3. Both are much slower then most other computers
  4. They are just terrible gaming laptops in general...
So he pretty much said they are both terrible.

Since this is my first time buying a computer on my own and it is a lot of money to spend, I am looking for a little guidance. Both of the above look pretty good to me, speed and performance wise. I play a lot of games, on Steam, League of Legends, Diablo 3, and some other pretty demanding games. I am also looking to do some school work, on Microsoft Office and such, to do research and write papers and things (I am a college student). At some point in the future I may have to install some 3D CAD software since I am studying to be an engineer. I also do general computer things and possibly record some game play footage.

I hope to use whatever computer I get for 4 or 5 years (assuming I take care of it properly)

If both of these options are bad, which I am fairly confident that they are not, can anyone point me in the right direction? My budget is anywhere close to the price of the two above (~$2,000-$2,800). Any help is appreciated!
[FONT=verdana]Thanks![/FONT]
[FONT=verdana] [/FONT]

Both laptops are great, I really do not know what your cousin was thinking. Both laptops have the highest end components you can get. They are are overkill though. This is why:
1) You want to avoid RAID 0.
2) 32GB RAM is too much.
3) A 4GB GPU for 1080P is overkill, but doesnt hurt.

Pros:
1) The 780M is great.
2) 4th gen CPU