Computer starts but, monitor keeps saying 'No signal' even though it is connected to pc.

Hello. I am new to Tech Spot. I have this problem for more than a week, and couldn't fix it. There are no computer technicians nearby, So I must carry the computer about 10km to get it fixed.

System unit and monitor is plugged into an extension cord. I usually connect the plugs to sockets while the extension cord is supplied electricity. So, about a week ago, I accidently connected the 'Earth pin' of computer's plug into 'Neutral hole' in the socket. (I don't know about electricals, so I am not sure if I used the correct words.) Then, I got a small electric shock and a spark came out of the socket. I immediately removed the plug and reconnected it correctly, but now the system unit turns on normally, but the monitor keeps telling, "No signal".

I checked the power cord and bought new two power cords for both monitor and system unit, also a new VGA cable. I connected them, but the problem still not solved.

I just registered here to get a help from this community, and I hope anyone will help me. Ask me for any information that is not clear and Thanks in advance.

110v or 220v?

Do you have access to "known good" components (2nd video card, 2nd monitor, etc) to allow you to swap out "unknown if good" components and/or a second system to test monitor to confirm it works properly?

Troubleshooting is all about narrowing the possible problems by proving components are good.

Spark from static or from mis-connection could impact video sub-system or power system, Video system is video card, signal cable, power cord and monitor. It sounds like you have tested the cables, so next thing is video card or monitor.

Might help if you could provide make and model for the system, the motherboard, the video card, the operating system.

110v or 220v?

Do you have access to "known good" components (2nd video card, 2nd monitor, etc) to allow you to swap out "unknown if good" components ......