Deciding on a Laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

HHof08

Hello everyone. I'm here asking for any recommendations for a soon-to-be college freshmen. Price range is about anything under $1,500 if need be. So I'll take any suggestions.

Also, what do you think about the Lenovo Y410 notebook or Lenovo 3000 Family N Series?

Thanks!

Are you only going to be using it for college work and Internet browsing?
If so then here we would buy something around £250 - £400 ($500 - $800) is normally good enough for a college freshman.
I'm not sure on American pricing, But we have to pay 17.5% tax on our products here so they would be cheaper there. You probably wouldn't even have to spend as much as I've said.

Hey, I'm a freshman as well and bought a Hp dv9000 just last year. I'm quite happy with it. It was much less expensive than Dell's equivalents, but I don't know much about other companies. whatever you do, try http://dealnews.com/. Also, google "coupon codes" for whatever model you think you might want. I saved a lot by doing so. Good luck!

You might want to think about how long you think it should last... Freshman year, or four years...
We service Lenovos as a major part of our service work.
Lenovo's are mostly terrific, but the 3000 is not one of them.
Consider an X-41, X-60 or other X-series because of their ruggedness and small size for portability. We have seen terrific luck with the T-41, T-42, T-43, and T-60... all better than the VISTA. The R-Series are pretty good, as well.
I have not used the Y410, or had my hands on a one.
On the other side, male college students often "need" a gamer laptop, more than they need the reliability and ruggedness of the Lenovo. For them, I would consider the HP's, Toshiba's, Gateways. and Dells in the upper half of their price ranges... You can tell the good ones because they have a long term warranty available (for extra cost, of course).