DVD drive won't write

Status
Not open for further replies.

pdsterling

As this is my premiere speech, I shall try to be brief:

My area of expertise in computers is concentrated in the keyboard. I am only a bare novice or advanced newbie on hardware. Recently, I added an IDE PCI controller card and second hard drive, as I have lots of data I want to store. Works Fine!!!

However, my DVD drive has gone wonky. I can read DVDs, I can read CDs, but I can't write DVDs, and I want to back up my system! :mad:

To try to answer questions which might be asked, its a generic clone with 512 MB of memory (working on that) and when I look at the system, for the hard drive it says, "HL-DT-ST DVD-RAM GSA-H455N SCSI CdRom Device". It says LG on the outside.

Can someone help me figure this out?

making progress with DVD burner, I think

Thanks!!! :grinthumb Nothing cheers me up like spot-on advice, except that it didn't move me very far. I downloaded the recommended software, with the following result: nine read capabilities and eight write capabilities were checked. That's good, right?

I am using Nero Express, which came with the drive and a disk marked DVD-R. I choose DVD, choose make data disk, add a folder (good sized folder), finish, Next I edited the disk title, Burn. I get a message saying, Generate ISO Names, then Checking Disks, and that's when it gets into a loop and goes no further.

If you can get me burning, I have a pound of Russell Stover's right here which I can upload to any address on the planet. Thanks in advance (again)

9579am_th.jpg

Thanks.

The 9 Read and 8 write, are basically perfect :grinthumb

Therefore it's likely that the problem lies in your Nero program
To actually confirm this beyond a shadow of a doubt, you can burn blank discs using Windows built in burning capabilities. To do this:
  • Place a new bank writable disc in the DVD Writer
  • Close any pop up window
  • Open "My Computer"
  • Double click to open your DVD Drive