First time building gaming system

NateDoggy

Hi everyone

I am extremely new to this so please bear with me. I am attempting to build a system for the first time and only have basic knowledge of computer hardware.

The system I am looking to build is:

M/B
GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

CPU
Intel Core i7-870 Lynnfield 2.93GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W

RAM
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)

HDD
Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"

Video
2 x ASUS EAH5850 DirectCU TOP/2DIS/1GD5 Radeon HD 5850 (Cypress Pro) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ ATI Eyefinity

Optical
Standard DVD Burner

Sound
ASUS Xonar D1 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PC

Ethernet
Onboard

Case
Rosewill CHALLENGER Black Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case, comes with Three Fans-1x Front Blue LED 120mm Fan, 1x Top 140mm Fan, 1x Rear 120mm Fan, option Fans-2x Side 120mm Fan

PSU
Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply

Generally I just need some advice and opinions on this system, as I said I am just learning all of this now and it is simply from researching online.
Will this system be compatible? Is there a way I can lessen the cost without reducing the performance a lot? Have I selected bad parts to use? Bad brands? Will this system be capable of running all games at high detail? Etc etc

And in particular,

Because the M/B supports triple channel, am i correct in getting 6gb 1333mhz? Will this boost performance a lot?