Help with the specs of my next PC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. I'm new to your forum, but I joined up because the replies in other threads seemed quite friendly, unlike some forums I know of :p.

Anyway, I'm planning on building a new PC, to use for recording music (I'm an amateur musician). I've made a list of components I'm planning to use, but having not followed the developments in the PC world too keenly for the last couple of years, I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to check the list below, and make sure eveything will work together? All suggestions are also welcome!

---
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 BTX 630 Socket 775 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T
Motherboard: MSI P4N Diamond Socket 775 nForce4 SLI PCI-E ATX [UPDATED to a different motherboard, as the old one didn't support SATA-300]
RAM: Corsair Memory TWIN2X1024A - 6400 XMS2-6400 2x512MB 240DIMM CAS5

What I'm worried about here is have I got the right type of each thing, and are they getting the best out of each other?

---
HDD: Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 250GB S300
Graphics: Gigabyte GF 6200 256/128MB TC PCI-E

Just like to know really if these will work with the motherboard, and if the HDD will achieve SATA 300 with said motherboard:

---
No question about these really, just in case you're interested :grinthumb
Power supply: Antec SmartBlue 350 GB (was thinking of upgrading this the higher power version, not sure if there is any point though?)
Case: Antec P180 EU PC Case Performance One Series
DVD Drive: http://www.dabs.com/ProductView.aspx?QuickLinx=3TS2

---

I realise this is quite a big task for anyone to sift through, so no worries if nobody has the time :p

Thanks,
Rick.

I just did a calculation of your PSU needs and you're at about 300w or so. I think you'll need a better PSU than a 350, otherwise you'll be working it pretty hard. MINIMUM you should get is a 380, but you should consider a 450w I'd say, especially if you ever plan to upgrade anthing or add another HDD for example.