How to identify your webcam (and then find its driver)

Iraklis1957

Posts: 32   +4
Last edited by a moderator:

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #453
@Iraklis1957
[SIZE=4]
I assume when you see the cam device in Device Manager it doesn't appear with a yellow icon?(a yellow icon means a device error)[/SIZE]

From what I can tell, the driver EXE file for your cam only provides a driver, not any application s/w to go with it. Do you remember what app(s) you used before with your cam?

fyi... That TestCam link you mentioned didn't work with my cam either. Try using Skype again to test it. Start Skype, Tools->Options. Click Video Settings. Does the cam light turn on? Anything in the cam window? A web cam settings button should also be under video window. Anything when you click it?
 

Iraklis1957

Posts: 32   +4
LookinAround,
Hi and welcome back.I'm sure you've been missed around here.to answer now:this is a snapshot of the device manager Καταγραφή.JPG It looks fine.

This is a snapshot of the window that opens when I run the cam's application:Καταγραφή3.JPG I changed the rgb...format to yu2 but nothing and finally this is what I see in Skype:Καταγραφή4.JPG You were right there is a webcam properties dialog:Καταγραφή5.JPG but no light turns on when I open it.An interesting thing happened while I was writing this reply.I ran liveCam and left it running after I captured the screen shot.When I opened Skype to check the webcam it produced an error message"Skype is not able to use your web cam because it is used in another program.Please close the ...."I don't know what to make of it but hopefull you do.
best regards,
 

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #455
[SIZE=4]I ran liveCam and left it running after I captured the screen shot.When I opened Skype to check the webcam it produced an error message"Skype is not able to use your web cam because it is used in another program.Please close the ...."I don't know what to make of it but hopefull you do[/SIZE]
[SIZE=4][/SIZE]
I can explain that error but I don't know why the web cam video won't work :(

Only one application can access the cam device at a time. So if LiveCam is still running (or doesn't close the cam device handle when LiveCam is stopped) Skype can't use the cam and will give you that error.

It IS possible to grant "non-exclusivity" for microphones but, as far as I know, not for cam video. For mics, CtlPnl->Sound->Recording tab. Right click a microphone->Properties->Advanced tab. Uncheck Allow applications to take exclusive control then click OK.

But I don't think that'll fix your cam video problem. The driver on the Acer site for your model is clearly wrong (it's looking for a different cam device).

It looks like the alternate the driver I found for you installed and is working. You may be forced to but a new cam :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: Iraklis1957

Iraklis1957

Posts: 32   +4
I was coming to that conclusion also.The cost is not high but having a piece of equipment not working and "staring at you" everytime you use the laptop is.
Thanks for all your efforts.
Best regards from Greece.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LookinAround
[SIZE=3]Hi guys!

Been reading up on your success with peoples webcams and I was just wondering if you could help me with this one..

Bought a cam called [/SIZE]
[SIZE=6]Sandstrøm HD720p[/SIZE]
[SIZE=3]But it's not working.. A blu light flashes when I turn on my computer but dies instantly when the computer reaches the OS. The microphone works but I get no picture in skype or other programs.
It just says the unit could not start ( code 10 ) in the taskmanager.

It should be "just a plug and play" and no drivers were in the box and there is no drivers on their homepage and their support is just pure oblivious of what I'm talking about..

Tried searching for the drivers with the Hardware-ID but with no success..
It would be so great if you guys could help me figure this out
Im running windows 8.1 on a stationary computer.

USB\VID_115B&PID_1320&REV_0109&MI_00
USB\VID_115B&PID_1320&MI_00

Sincerely / nik[/SIZE]
 

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #458
@embertwist
Have you tried using Device Manager
> Right click the device (it'll have a yellow icon) select->Uninstall
> Then reboot. Windows will reinstall the generic drivers.

Does that help at all?
 
Wow its good to see how people here are successful to install their devices.. I've been 2 days stressed in installing my webcamera.. I bought in on CD-R King named, "FOCUS WEB CAM" heres the link of the product.( http://www.cdrking.com/?mod=products&type=view&sid=13646&main=140 ) and its driver in CD doesnt work on my PC, ive tried alot of drivers and its not working, hope you can help..

Anyways, here's the Hardware ID's "


USB\VID_1871&PID_0101&REV_000<
USB\VID_1871&PID_0101


THANK YOU IN ADVANCE DUDE! :)

Oh an additional information.. I am using WINDOWS 7

again this is my hardware ID's:

USB\VID_1871&PID_0101&REV_000<
USB\VID_1871&PID_0101

I hope you can reply soon :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Hey,
I have spent all night looking for stupid drivers for this stupid ebay webcam (driver disc came broken)
here are the harware id's:

USB\Vid_05e3&Pid_0510&Rev_0524&MI_00
USB\Vid_05e3&Pid_0510&MI_00

if you find a driver you'll be my knight in shining armor
I'm just so tired
I'm running xp,
camera is xp compatible
 

Iraklis1957

Posts: 32   +4
I have a camera with this hardware ID
USBVID_0C45&PID_602A&REV_0101
but I cannot find a driver - any ideas?
I am running Window 7 64bit Ultimate
 

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #469
I know this is out of order, @Zack Wert 's hardware id just caught my eye as that id is very familiar.

@Zack Wert
Your h/w id is familiar because that was a popular web cam. It's a Sonix SN9C102. I do have a copy of it's driver stashed away (I keep copies of some of the drivers I found in the past). Problem is it's a 32bit driver and probably only works with XP :(

You can download the old driver HERE. But I don't think it'll work (or even install). You'll need to get a new cam compatible with win7 64 bit
 

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #470
After careful research by my tech guy, we have found 2 possible drivers that work for my camera using the HID I provided earlier.
1. http://server05.driveridentifier.com/.../VID_1B17&PID...
2.http://server05.driveridentifier.com/.../VID_1B17&PID...
they are direct downloads.
@paradiabolical
1. Did you ever get those drivers to work?[SIZE=4] I'm not coming to the same conclusion as your tech guy. I don't think those drivers are right for your cam
2. Not 100% sure but from what I've seen after a quick look, I think your cam is supposed to work using the Windows generic video driver.
[/SIZE]
When you connect your cam, do you see a device entry in Device Manager under a category called "Other Devices"? Do you see a device listed anywhere with a yellow icon?

List any Problem devices
  • Make sure devices are connected and powered on
  • Click Start->Run, enter: msinfo32. Click the + sign next to Components to expand it
  • Click Problem Devices. Anything appear?
  • If yes, click on it, Ctrl-A to select all, Ctrl-C to copy it, Ctrl-V to paste into next post
  • On the other hand, if no devices are listed, tell me so
 
@embertwist
Have you tried using Device Manager
> Right click the device (it'll have a yellow icon) select->Uninstall
> Then reboot. Windows will reinstall the generic drivers.

Does that help at all?
I've Tried that, it doesn't help at all.
Still that yellow exclamation triangle on USB Camera

Sorry for not replying sooner, been abroad :)
 
Hi I've been searching the internet over for the past several hours with no luck and lots of frustration...I have an old USB camera that a friend lent me according to my research so far I think its by Topro Technologies (not sure -no writing on camera and no disks to go with it). The PNP Device ID # is USB\VID_06a2&PID_0003\5&290341a0&0&2 and I'm using a windows 7 PC. I haven't looked through all the posts here to see if my model is listed, but I did look through the first page. Please bare with me if you guys have already given the driver link for this camera.

FYI I installed this driver topro_tp6801_1050104 and ran the setup file and the camera is still saying the driver isn't installed after restarting the computer. --I'm not a computer wiz by any means and if there's something simple I'm missing that I should have obviously done don't assume I must have done it (I won't be offended :) ).
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Ok, now I've also tried the topro_tp6800 I think from the "PC Camera; Manufacturer: e-blueHardware:
e-blue Efectiv Webcam" -no luck. :-(
 

LookinAround

Posts: 6,430   +186
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #474
Hi @MaryP

You are right! That is a Topro webcam. I do have an old driver for it. (It's dated 01/04/2005, version 1.05.0104) so it might only work with XP. To download click HERE, unzip and run the Setup file. But if it doesn't work, means you'll need a new webcam that's Win 7 compatible.
 

Blaze049

Posts: 42   +3
No need, just install Driver Easy and install the driver for webcam, wait 'till it downloads then enjoy seeing your face in the monitor!!!