Internet keeps disconnecting randomly

Hammyobob

Hi there!

I recently have come across an issue where my internet randomly disconnects, mostly while on Skype or downloading video games and cannot figure out the issue at all. It usually downloads fine for about 1 minute and then disconnects completely. 0kbps and internet drops on my computer alone.

I'm kinda new to tech forums so if you guys need any information let me know.

Hi, I had this problem a few years ago, which was fixed by buying a new USB wireless dongle.
But if you are using wireless connection to the router, try an ethercable instead and see if the same thing happens.
Are you using a laptop? If so it could be faulty wireless 802.11 board.
If you are using a USB wireless adapter, it could that the pc is turning off the power to the USB ports to 'save power', that can be changed if required.

Hi there Mike! I am using a wireless connection on a laptop, the problem started occuring after I had reinstalled the Windows 7 OS due to a harddrive error. After re-installing it, I had sworn I installed everything correctly but the computer was running extremely slow and the internet kept dropping like no other. Took it to a friend shortly after who works with computers and he did the exact same thing I had done but the computer was running a ton better and the internet still kept dropping out.

Usually it only happens while downloading games from steam, updates on games, or any large files from the internet. Gets about 100 mbs in and then completely drops out, sometimes even whilst on Skype it will drop out while in the conversation and I will have to disconnect & reconnect which instantly brings the internet back on.
When plugging in through an ethernet cable, the internet still drops while on Skype and downloading.