Messed up reinstallation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Please can someone help- I'm a relative newbie and I seem to have messed up.
I have two hard drives in my PC. I kept the smaller one from my old PC and made it the slave drive.
Everything has worked fine until I got a virus and decided to do a clean reinstall of XP.
Although I thought I'd followed some instructions I found properly - I obviously haven't. It looks as if I've installed it twice.
When I boot up, now I get the black screen asking me which operating system to start and XP is listed twice. If I click the top one, I can't connect to the internet and Device Manager shows a yellow question mark next to the Ethernet Controller, PCI Device, Unknown device and video controller.
If I click the bottom one, I can connect OK and Device Manager doesn't show any problems.
The smaller (old) drive is now shown as the 'C' drive and the larger new one is the 'D' drive.
Also can't now get any of my media files to play audio. Keeps telling me there's a problem with my sound device.
Please excuse my limited knowledge. I hope one of you talented guys can point me in the right direction!
Thanks,
Dave.

>> How to edit the Boot.ini file in Windows XP

Basically you need to delete the top line that doesn't work in the Boot.ini file
So it looks similar to this:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
I say, "similar", only because yours may actually say:
multi(0)disk(1)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
Which is obviously still incorrect

You need to physically remove the 2nd Hard Drive
Then install Windows clean again on the first HardDrive only
Here's a guide: (please select your Windows version)