Micro ATX question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corwin613

Will a Micro ATX motherboard fit in an ATX case or will none of the slots line up?

I've never used a micro ATX board before so I am bit at a loss plus I currently don't have any micro atx cases. I haven't purchased the board yet either but I wanted to ask first.

A new motherboard will come with an alignment template. Motherboards that will fit, can have a variety of templates so that sockets differ, and USB ports, ethernet sockets, PS/2 locations will be located or aligned in different spots. but everything ends up neat and orderly.
There are problems with used boards for which you do not have the template.

Short answer Yes. As raybay said a new board will come with an ioshield (the metal plate around the ports, what raybay reffered to an an "alignment template") so all the ports will line up with the shield. with a used board you can run it without the shield (just be carefull no foregin objects enter the opening) or you can usually find a compatible shield at a computer shop or on ebay for less than $10. as for the screw holes and expansion slots a mATX board is just a shortened version of an ATX board (usually 2 or 3 less expansion slots) so they will line up just fine. You will just end up with some unused expansion slots (the lower 2 or 3) in the case.

Ok thanks for the info. I may have to look up an IO shield once i get the motherboard not sure off the top of my head if it came with one.

Would a case that is Micro ATX compatible have a proper IO shield? I know boards have different ports integrated on them so you just don't take out the ones you don't have.

Would a case that is Micro ATX compatible have a proper IO shield? I know boards have different ports integrated on them so you just don't take out the ones you don't have.