Motherboard for Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.
Having just replaced my heatsync with the Artic Freezer Pro 7, I have become intrigued by the idea of overclocking my PC as the cheapest way to improve my system's performance. Not having any money this would seem to be like a good way to increase my system's life-span and I thought that I would ask for help. I understand that I will have to replace my motherboard for something more OCing friendly, and will probably have to replace my memory too (although the ideal would be to be able to buy another 2Gb to take the memory to 4Gb, but this might be impractical). Having installed the new fan (which is brilliantly quiet) I have downloaded SpeedFan 4 (which offers FSB speed changes) but other motherboards have have their own OCing management interface for total novices like me. Having done some basic research, it would seem that achieving 3Hgz is well within the bounds of possibility (stability is more important than pushing the envelope) but it will very much depend on the cost of getting there. Any advice that you guys can offer on a choice of motherboard and the settings that I would need to look at using would be hugely appreciated.

i would suggest against overclocking if you want to increase lifespan because oc'ing runs the pc at more than its made for making it work harder and it will make your hardware and stuff start breaking sooner rather than later. also changing a mobo is a huge pain so i would just oc the ram and change your fsb in bios but do it in small increments to avoid death. don't fry anything now!
good luck hope it works out for you.

i would suggest against overclocking if you want to increase lifespan because oc'ing runs the pc at more than its made for making it work harder .

And folks is why Intel makes sh!tloads of cash from being able to sell the next speed step in the CPU chain for 50% more than the one you own.