My first self-built PC (opinions and suggestions wanted)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gundam04

Hello, I'm new to building PCs, but since I've grown a distaste for factory built models I've decided to build my own. I just want some opinions and suggestions as to what I need. Here's a list of what I've got. (some of these parts I've seen used in other messages and decided to incorporate them.

MOBO

CPU

Video

memory

PSU

Case

I think I may use my old CD/DVD drives and HDDs. Do I need anything else?

whats your budget, b/c if you want to spare a few bucks go for the Athlon 64 3500+, you will also need a display and Keyboard/Mouse combo. Does the mobo have integrated sound, or else you need a soundcard, also will need USB and Firewire cards. plus optional components like a media card reader, floppy, etc... I hope you included WinXP in there Home will be about $100, and Pro will be about $200, I highly recomed WinXP Pro, b/c of improved reliability and stability, and a File Encrypting System (FES) plus wheres your HD???? go for at least a 250GB drive or dual 100GB for improved system performance Western Digital www.westerndigital.com makes a good 250GB drive for about $150.00 very inexpensive its only ATA but its one of the fastest drives out there 2day. are you going to be using stock cooling or Water cooling, water is awesome b/c its silent ut it gonna cost you.

Other Than That, looks pretty good to me, have fun building her

ps. since this is your first custom build, get a hold of an old PC and take it apart several times and re-assemble for practice.

one other thing, i cant stress enough, ALWAYS GROUND YOURSELF EVERYTIME YOU TOUCH THE CASE WHILE ASSEMBLING THE PC, or you could fry your new parts

Good Luck
...AMD

I can tell you did your homework. That looks like a very solid system. Great choices on the parts! It is also very upgradable so it should last you for some time to come.

Very nice system,