My wireless network router hacked?

Hi,
I am not very good at networks so just a heads up that my question may be a little too rudimentary. Since few months i have noticed my office laptop drops network connection. I predominantly use only my office computer though have 1 more personal computer which typically just stays powered on, it has been a while since I used it. I realize that when I switch my personal computer off, i do not have issues with my other computer that i normally use. So I am sort of concerned whether my network has been handling too many computers and so drops off frequently. I do not mind keeping my other computer switched off almost all the time, but am concerned that my network is hacked. I have a password that i set up almost 18months ago when i bought my router but i am guessing hacking a router is not a very difficult thing to do. What can I do in this case, I have now changed the password also? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you
-RSR

Also, just to give an idea i have a D-LINK router and I have been trying to login to it for the last few hours, but cannot. Either I forgot my password or something has happened to my network router. I think I will have to reset my router.

-RSR

To protect your router:
  1. change the default Admin password
  2. disable remote administration and login on port 8080
  3. if you're primarily a wired setup, disable the WiFi
  4. if you FIRMLY believe the router is hacked;
    • get a fresh copy of the firmware for your make/mode - - be sure to get BOTH correct
    • reload the firmware
    • then start over from 1-3

TCP issues to consider include
  • disable fragmentation in the packets
  • set the MTU to 1492 for the ADSL norm (even if you're cable or satellite)

I also hide the SSID and enable MAC authentication on my wi-fi router. Not unhackable for someone determined to get in, but it will keep most folks out.