Need advice for backing up my system

Status
Not open for further replies.

JLVB

Recently, I had some sort of catastropic failure. I'd been having lots of little problems for months and this pushed me over the edge, so I ended up ordering a new tower. I am going all out this time; battery backup with AVR, extra cooling, etc. I even bought an external drive so I can back up my important files. I am an aspiring author and lost over 400 pages of type for a few novels I am working on because I kept procrastinating when it came to backing up my system. I'm not making the same mistake again. Here's my question:

I purchased and formatted a portable 40gb drive. What is the BEST method of backup that ensures the quickest and most thorough recovery in the event I need to start from scratch and how do I do it?

Thanks so much!

I am an aspiring author and lost over 400 pages of type for a few novels
:'( My condolences.

If you are simply looking to back up your text files, you can just copy and paste them into your new hdd. You could even email them to yourself for safe measure if they are small enough. This will not preserve any programs or anything else aside from what is on you Windows install CD.

Now if you want to back up your ENTIRE operating system along with files, you could use a hard drive imaging software. If you are not worried about reinstalling the OS as long as you still have your files, I the easiest way is to just copy those on the external hdd, save it in email, or burn them on disk, possibly all three.

My personal advice: The ounce of prevention (and a few extra $$) is worth the pound and pain of cure when disaster strikes. Absolutely, invest in disk "ghost" image backup software vs. traditional file/folder backup software.

Ghost backups will:
=> Create a ful snapshot of your disk image allowing you the option to simply restore the full disk image as-it-was at the time of the backup. Thus if need be you could simply restore the disk image