Need help finding CPU compatability list for e-Machine T2240

This is my first time posting so bear with me please. My 70 yr old mom has an eMachine T2240 with a Celeron 2.2G processor. I can't seem to find any way to identify the motherboard so I can upgrade the processor to something remotely modern. If anyone would know of any duo core that may work or how I could find the mobo identification I would greatly appreciate it. I spent 15 minutes in an online chat with eMachine support just to have them tell me I shouldn't change anything because it might cause issues! I guess they need to sell more computers. Thanks for any input.

For Once I Agree With Emachines Tech Support...

Welcome to a long list of passersby who have posed this same question. The T-2240 carries the Intel 845 chipset, which is socket 478. There isn't even an Intel dual core CPU made in socket 478. This is "legacy" hardware, there isn't anything you could do to this machine by virtue of a processor, that would have much of a positive effect on its performance, and you need not to f*** with it.

You couldn't find this: http://www.emachines.com/support/product_support.html?cat=Desktops&subcat=T-Series&model=T2240 ...?

Actually, this computer shipped with 128MBs of RAM. If this is still the amount installed, then bumping this up to 512MB or 1GB would be the best, safest, and most performance enhancing upgrade that could, or should, be made. And, at the age of this machine, it needs a new power supply, more than anything. No, a new PSU won't make it faster, but it might save the motherboard, if the OEM unit decides to go belly up.

Emachines of this age are notorious for having issues with the motherboard failing, by virtue of bad capacitors. The fact that this machine is still running, might only be because of the fact that it receives only limited use. Or you are indeed, very, very lucky.

Thanks for answers on T2240 issues.