New build not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

dezibob

Hello,
Okay so I'm a total noob…I admit it…but if anyone can help me with this problem you would be a godsend!!!

I just had a new system put together by Cyberpower. I really wanted to build it myself but my friend who was going to guide me through it just up and died! Really...

Anyway (sorry I’m getting of on a tangent) I decided to avoid the probable headache and had cyberpower build it for me. I chose all the parts so perhaps that's the problem but I’m having all the issues I was trying to avoid anyways! Unstable…slow… hang ups…BSOD…you name it. And I am at my wits end!

The only thing that I added was the memory which I got from newegg. Could that be causing these issues?

Okay so here’s what’s in my rig,

Asus P5Q Pro

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale

Palit Radeon HD 4850

OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2x2 Gb)

500GB Western Digital WD5000AACS-00ZUB0

Sigma Shark SP-635W PSU

I have updated all the drivers
Upgraded the bios
I ran WD’s disk checker for errors…none
Ran memtest86 and it found no errors
Swapped my video card for an old one but still got a BSOD
I’ve tweaked the bios a bit to fit my memory timings but I am not overclocking. I just want a stable PC.But I'm not sure what my bio settings really should be.

When I run memtest and go to option 3 "Memory sizing" then I select 2-Bios -All I get errors immediatly. The memory itself says no errors.
Is that a Bios error? I'm not sure what the errors mean.

Heres an event log for my latest BSOD

Event Type: Error
Event Source: System Error
Event Category: (102)
Event ID: 1003
Date: 11/12/2008
Time: 1:30:17 PM
User: N/A
Description:

Error code 1000008e, parameter1 c0000005, parameter2 00000000, parameter3 ba213c44, parameter4 00000000.

So my question is…what am I missing or doing wrong? Is there anything else I can do?